University of Luxembourg

The University

Founded in 2003, the University of Luxembourg , the only public university in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, has succeeded, in just a few years, in rising to the 20th place in the world for young universities. Multilingual, international and research-focused, it also defines itself as a modern institution with a human face.

  • 1,420 academic staff (including PhD students, postdoctoral researchers, research assistants and others) support some 270 professors, assistant professors and lecturers
  • Close to the European institutions and the Luxembourg financial centre

Three faculties  

Three campuses

The University is present on three sites: the Belval Campus, the Kirchberg Campus and the Limpertsberg Campus.

Multilingual and international

The University of Luxembourg is one of the few universities in the world to offer bilingual or even trilingual (French, German, English) bachelor programmes. A certificate attesting to your level of language knowledge will be required to access the courses. The master programmes are mostly in English.

Internationally oriented, the university makes one semester of mobility compulsory during the Bachelor's degree. 

Focus on research and innovation

Encouraged at national level, innovation must be the driving force behind sustainable socio-economic development. The University of Luxembourg supports this strategy through its commitment to position itself as an international leader in specific research areas, provide high quality interdisciplinary teaching programmes and strengthen its economy and contribute to the transformation of Luxembourg society.

The University of Luxembourg counts

Admissions

Most programmes have a limited capacity. Admissions requirements vary from programme to programme. Choose your programme on the university website and check carefully the eligibility criteria and required documents.

Admission procedures

  • Online registration on the site of the institution from 1 February
  • apply for simultaneous admission to 3 study programmes maximum

Application deadlines

  • EU students: April-August depending on the programme
  • non-EU students: January-March

Registration fees

  • between 200 and 400 € per semester depending on the semester of study.
  • 50 € application fee

The new study programmes in 2021

Last update

Universität Luxemburg

Die Universität

Die im Jahre 2003 gegründete Universität Luxemburg, die einzige öffentliche Universität im Großherzogtum Luxemburg, hat es in nur wenigen Jahren geschafft, auf den 20. Platz der jungen Universitäten weltweit aufzusteigen. Mehrsprachig, international und forschungsorientiert, versteht sie sich als moderne Institution mit persönlicher Atmosphäre.

  • 1.420 akademische Mitarbeiter (einschließlich Doktoranden, Postdoktoranden, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter und andere) unterstützen rund 280 Professoren, Assistenzprofessoren und Dozenten
  • Zahlreiche Kooperationen mit den EU-Institutionen und dem luxemburgischen Finanzplatz  

Drei Fakultäten  

Drei Standorte

Die Universität ist an drei Standorten vertreten: dem Campus Belval, dem Campus Kirchberg und dem Campus Limpertsberg.

Mehrsprachig und international

Die Universität Luxemburg ist eine der wenigen Universitäten der Welt, die zweisprachige oder sogar dreisprachige (Französisch, Deutsch, Englisch) Bachelor-Studiengänge anbietet. Für den Zugang zu den verschidenen Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen ist ein Zertifikat erforderlich, das die Sprachkenntnisse bescheinigt. Die meisten Master-Studiengänge sind auf Englisch.

International ausgerichtet, sieht die Universität ein obligatorisches Auslandssemester während des Bachelorstudiums vor.

Schwerpunkt auf Forschung und Innovation

Die auf nationaler Ebene geförderte Innovation muss die treibende Kraft für eine nachhaltige sozioökonomische Entwicklung sein. Die Universität Luxemburg unterstützt diese Strategie, durch ihr Engagement in gezielten Forschungsbereichen interdisziplinäre Lehrprogramme von hoher Qualität anzubieten zur Stärkung der Luxemburger Wirtschaft.  

Die Universität von Luxemburg hat:

Zulassungen

Die meisten Programme haben eine begrenzte Kapazität. Die Zulassungsbedingungen sind von Studiengang zu Studiengang unterschiedlich. Wählen Sie Ihren Studiengang auf der Webseite der Universität aus und prüfen Sie die Zulassungskriterien und die erforderlichen Unterlagen.

Zulassungsverfahren

  • Online-Anmeldung auf der Webseite der Universität ab 1. Februar
  • Antrag auf gleichzeitige Zulassung für höchstens 3 Studiengänge

Bewerbungsfristen

  • EU-Studenten: April-August, je nach Programm
  • Nicht-EU-Studenten: Januar-März

Anmeldegebühren

  • zwischen 200 und 400 € pro Semester, je nach Studiensemester.
  • 50 € Antragsgebühr

Die neuen Studiengänge in 2021

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am